Mind over Matter?

21 Jul

lactose intolerance

lactose intolerance (Photo credit: Rakka)

I went out running this morning. I love running because a lot of things go through my mind and I retrieve my best ideas and am able to solve a lot of problems.  This morning I was remembering how I feel when I eat dairy products. I am lactose intolerant. When I consume dairy food, I am physically in pain even though I love eating milk chocolate and cottage cheese. Well, pain is a great motivator to stop doing the things that cause it.  I was thinking what a waste that would be to toss it into the trash. A friend reminded me that it would all end up in the trash anyhow. Just the passage to get there was not through my body. I should not have bought it in the first place. When I like food but can’t have it, there is a battle between my head (mind) and my body cravings (matter).  Mind over Matter, right?

I graduated with a Master’s Degree in Psychology and behavior and cognition have always been fascinating to me. Maybe I could make an experiment: When people want to eat food but know it’s not making their body feel good, would they eat it anyways?   Is that what may be the problem with obesity? Oh, and then there is a third variable: the person has to KNOW it’s not making their body feel good and have to have that awareness knowing what caused them not to feel good. In my experiment I would need to control for that third variable. If I ask people before the experiment if they know which foods don’t make them feel good, I would be able to control who participates. But, then I would draw awareness to them knowing which foods will be making them feel bad and they might be able to control their consumption. Hmm, maybe that experiment would need better planning. But, is that really all it takes? Do we just need to heighten our awareness to consciously knowing which foods we should eat more of to feel better? One factor involved in which foods make your body feel better is your blood type. I am blood type O positive. That means my body feels better when I eat vegetables. That may be the reason I don’t like eating meat, let alone fish. But some people may have developed a taste for foods they should not be eating because that’s what was on the table when they were children. With our conscious awareness and knowing our blood type, we might be able to control the cravings we have. After I learned that cravings go away after a couple of months not eating the food, it made it possible to just set a short-term goal not eating the food and I noticed how my body felt without it. That sounds like a good way to master Mind over Matter. If we believe we can eat it, but choose not to, we think that we are in control and just chose not to eat something. If we think we “can’t” eat a certain food, the temptation get’s stronger and as humans we like a challenge.  I chose to believe that I can eat this food if I wanted to. But I didn’t want to and I tossed my M&M’s and cottage cheese into the trash.  My Mind won. And with that, my body also won. That’s what you call a  win/win situation.

One Response to “Mind over Matter?”

  1. healthandwealthinfo July 21, 2012 at 11:22 pm #

    http://dadamo.com/

Leave a Reply

Minding the Workplace

The New Workplace Institute Blog, hosted by David Yamada

What. No Mints?

I do science and sew things.

